Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, Tyler, I’ve “Kept On Cookin!” … Well, At Least My Mom Has

Tyler and Me (April 25, 2006 – The Inn at Palmetto Bluff)

Dear Tyler:

I’m not sure if you remember but we met at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff on April 25, 2006.  I was there for a business meeting and you were there giving a cooking demonstration.

The Imm at Palmetto Bluff.

You didn’t know this but, prior to that trip, we were given a chance to sign up for a range of activities for our weekend there including a Southern cooking class.  Upon arrival, I gasped when I spotted a sign on the registration desk: “Cooking with Tyler” … I had no idea YOU would be teaching the class!  I immediately called my Mom who also gasped.  We were huge fans of yours for awhile at that point, loving your “Food 911” show on Food Network (and now, BTW, loving your sumptuously shot “Tyler’s Ultimate” show).

As you may recall, at your demonstration, you showed how to make a variety of Southern foods in front of a very small class of about 20 people.  You told us that it felt like “coming home” since you grew up in the South.

At the end of the class, you graciously posed for pictures and signed your new-at-that-time cookbook, “real kitchen,” where you inscribed:

I’m sure you didn’t know that I don’t really cook, so I took it philosophically.  I also got a copy of the book for my Mother who then took you literally – thank goodness.  I later bought her a copy of your Tyler’s Ultimate book as well.

My mother’s copies of both of these books have a thousand dog-ears in them as she loves so many of your recipes.  She says that your Spaghetti & Meatballs from your Ultimate book is “heaven” while your Hong Kong Crab Cakes from the Real Kitchen book are “double heaven“!

Hong Kong Crab Cakes" – from Tyler Florence's Real Kitchen.

She’s also wild about your “Perfect Salmon” from your Ultimate book (which she says IS perfect) and your “Dad’s Meatloaf with Tomato Relish” from Real Kitchen (which she says is the “real thing”).

Since we’ve met, you’ve become lightning to the culinary world, with appearances on the TODAY Show, CNN, The View, The Tonight Show, Oprah, Access Hollywood, Extra, Good Morning Americamore cookbooks (Tyler’s Ultimate, Tyler Florence Family Meal, Stirring The Pot, Dinner at My Place, Start Fresh: Your Child’s Jump-Start to Lifelong Healthy Living) … and restaurant openings (Wayfare Tavern, El Paseo in Mill Valley and Tyler Florence Rotisserie & Wine in Napa).

For me, though, I’m most grateful that your food has become part of my family’s repertoire.

What else do I love about you?  That your idea of luxury is truffle salt on your popcorn … or truffle salt on just about anything (me too, as I consider truffle “anything” to be a DeathbedFood) … and frankly, I appreciate that you’re just so darn cute!

So, thank you Tyler Florence … for giving that AWESOME cooking demonstration, for enriching my family meals, and for your continued culinary inspiration.  I’m hoping to see you at your upcoming appearances at LA Food & Wine, in Marin, and certainly on your very cool “Ultimate” show.