Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

On The Taste LA Red Carpet, Roy Choi Lists Kimchi – and More – as DeathbedFood

As part of my Red Carpet interviewing experience at The Taste LA, I got the chance to interview Kogi BBQ food truck owner and culinary star, Roy Choi. When asked about what his DeathbedFood may be, Roy shared that it would definitely involve Kimchi among other things (caution: this video may not be appropriate for younger viewers!) …

Later, at the Taco Tequila Tryst event, I had my first chance to try a spicy pork Kogi BBQ taco … and to see what all the buzz was about.  Definitely worth the wait.  L-O-V-E.  Note: I was so crazy about devouring the taco that I didn’t take a picture – sorry!  But I have an shot from his website for you below:

Bettleblood Taco (courtesy: kogibbq.com)

For the newly-initiated, Roy Choi is a pioneer in the food truck movement with his Kogi food trucks.  He also runs Chego and A-Frame, his most recent creative restaurant yet which encourages its guests to share food with strangers.

Roy Choi (Photo: Los Angeles Times)

In any case, based on the spicy pork taco I sampled, I’ll be following @kogibbq on Twitter like mad now in hopes of getting another one soon!