Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Ram’s Gate Winery: May I Please Move In?

From the minute you walk up, Ram’s Gate seduces you through its architecture and interior design. Architect Howard Backen (projects include the Sundance Institute and Esperanza in Cabo San Lucas) and Interior Designer Orlando Diaz-Azcuy (who designed Masa’s Restaurant and Levi’s Headquarters in SF) worked together to create what Huffington Post writer, and WineFashionista, Mary Orlin deemed to be its uniquely sexy style. She wanted to not only visit but to move in – same here Mary!

Indoor Lounge (Photo: Rocco Ceselin)

Because Ram’s Gate is located at the base of the Carneros Region, near Infineon Raceway, very close to the metropolitan San Francisco Area, it’s possible for many in the city to pop up there just for a few hours to taste the wine and soak up a little wine country ambiance.

Ram’s Gate specializes in varietals of the Carneros Region (primarily Chardonnay, Pinot Noir) – with some Syrah, Zin and Cabernet Sauvignon as well.

Another strong selling point for me is the cuisine developed by Executive Chef Jason Rose (formerly Executive Sous Chef at The Carneros Inn and Project Manager for the Delfina Restaurant Group).  Chef Rose has created a menu designed around the wine … just pick your wine and there are complimentary foods to consider. For example, with their Chardonnay and Pinot Noir you could choose:

  • With the 2009 Chardonnay, Seared Gulf Shrimp with Coconut Creamed Corn and Curry; Warm Marinated Olives; or Salad Nicoise with Farm Egg, Heirloom Tomato.
  • with the 2009 Pinot Noir, Charcuterie; Rabbit Rillettes with Fennel Salame; Fried Summer Pea Arancini; or Crispy Seared California Sea Bass.

Sadly, I was on a tight wine country touring schedule and couldn’t sample the food but the Pea Arancini looked amazing and I can’t wait to go back to sample that as well as the Rabbit – among other dishes.  And when I do, I plan to soak up as much Ram’s Gate ambiance as possible, having at least one dish in each of the lovely seating areas of the winery … a moving wine feast of sorts.

The Tasting Room (Photo: Rocco Ceselin)

Photo: Rocco Ceselin

Courtyard at Night (Photo: Rocco Ceselin)

Photo: The Bold Italic

I can see that Ram’s Gate is perfect for private events. They offer a “Carneros Reserve Membership” where members may use the Library, have the Member’s Concierge help with dining reservations, and get direct email access to the winemaker, chef and sommelier, have picnics prepared for them in advance – among other key benefits.

Member's Lounge

So, looks like I may need to become a member so I can host that “DeathbedFood ‘Wine Country’ Launch” Party I’ve been thinking about … hmm, better yet, perhaps I can talk designer Orlando into helping me with my decor in the meantime?  Orlando – your style is my style, so I’m sure it would be a very easy job for you!