Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After having met Chef Jet Tila (“Chef Jet”) at The Taste earlier this year, I learned that he had a pop-up restaurant event every weekend this month at Breadbar Century City, called “Bistronomics: Lucky 13.” Chef Jet, who created this experience along with Chef Alex Ageneau (former sous at The Royce), designed the event to provide creative, modern and affordable haute cuisine.

Starting out, we sampled “Tree in the Forest” – a confit of salsify, crispy Maitake mushrooms and garlic … its presentation alone was 5-star.  Great name!  I’m seeing salsify on more menus now and really beginning to appreciate this veggie.

Tree in the Forest

Next up, was Oxtail Banh Mi – oxtail ragu with melted brie.  That one caught my attention from the get-go as I’d never tried oxtail before and I adore melted brie.  Very rich dish … may I have another please?

Oxtail Banh Mi

The Lobster Bisque (not pictured) was superb.  Among the best ever.  Theirs included shitake mushrooms and tarragon … I’m suspecting the tarragon made it reminiscent for me of a breezy, Thai dish.  On the heels of the bisque, the Cod Brandade with Chorizo Ragu had a tough act to follow but burst through with flying colors.  While I’m not usually on Team Cod, this dish swayed me to join … most likely, the Chorizo Ragu sent it over the top for me.

Cod Brandade with Chorizo Ragu

Along the way, another delicious aspect to the meal was the service.  Chefs Jet and Alex were out and about, chatting with guests throughout much of our time there.  Meantime, Akili Steward (former Royce) was also readily available to explain the wines offered and discuss best pairings.  It’s always nice when you can get an up close view of the thinking that went into a menu like this.

Finally, the desserts ended the meal at the same incredible level offered throughout: Chocolate Ganache (with gingerbread, giving it nice texture against the creamy chocolate) and Pear Clafoutis (with coffee cream).

Chocolate Ganache and Pear Clafoutis

Chef Jet and Chef Alex really know how to deliver on their promise – delivering fine dining at affordable pricing.  Bravo!  I hope to experience another Bistronomics (or Chef Jet/Alex venture) very soon – perhaps the next one October 28/29!