Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Marcel Vigneron’s Alligator Invites …

Recently, very recently actually, I got invited to attend an event as press set for this Tuesday, November 15th that featured the “Five Cs”.  Having a Marketing background, I was initially thinking maybe they were inviting me to an economic theory discussion involving Customers, Community, Channels, Competitive Value and Choice … but, luckily, this event was about things which will likely be much more fun: Caviar, Charity, Cuisine, Champagne and Classical Music!  To be honest, they had me at the first one, Caviar.

But since I’m all about all of these, I was over the moon about attending:

  • Caviar: While I can’t say that I’m a connoisseur (yet), I’m definitely on Team Caviar, without a doubt!
  • Charity: If I can help to support worthy charities with my blog, I say “Yes, Please!”
  • Cuisine: I think this goes without addressing … hmm, I have a food blog called what again?
  • Champagne: Yes, this is a “Food & Wine” blog but I’m a big supporter of the bubbly (as are the majority of the chefs whom I’ve interviewed about their DeathbedFoods … a very high percentage of whom have listed Champagne in their list … here Chef Ashley James of the Four Seasons Los Angeles details his love for Champagne for example)
  • Classical Music:  I grew up playing classical music on the piano and do so to this day. Chopin, Bach, Debussy, Satie, Mozart and Schubert are just a few of my go-to favorites (especially when played by the true professionals!).

Fair warning: The ticket price is pretty steep ($1,000 in advance for two admissions).  But, for those who can afford it, they will have the peace of mind knowing that the proceeds will go towards a worthwhile charity: the Harold Robinson Foundation, based in Los Angeles, which is dedicated to enriching the lives of inner city and underprivileged children.

It turns out that The Beverly Hills Tasting Club is sponsoring this Beverly Hills Charity Event taking place at a private home in Bel Air with music to be provided by the Malibu String Quartet.  You can get a sneak peak at the event through this video:

One of the major draws for me was the Chef, Marcel Vigneron, the second-season runner-up on Top Chef and one of the leaders in “molecular gastronomy.”  Having been mentored by the likes of  Joel Robuchon and Michael Mina, I’m dying to see what he can do first-hand!  Marcel will be whipping up exotic foods such as a smoked Alligator (photo at top!).  Serving with Marcel will be Manouschka Guerrier of The Food Network’s Private Chefs of Beverly Hills.  See here as Marcel himself talks about his participation in this event:

So, stay tuned for a report back from the Bel Air Charity Scene this Tuesday.  At the least, I’m sure the Alligator will be memorable!