Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Craziness Ensues When DeathbedFood Cooks with FARINA

As I posted, I recently learned how to make Thai Curry from Farina Kingsley … and it changed my life!  I realized, for the first time in my adult life, that I can find DeathbedFood in my own kitchen after all …

Me with Farina Kingsley

What I loved most about this dish was its taste.  The combination of lemongrass, Thai Ginger, Thai Basil and the rest really made me feel like I hit the Tastylicious Lotto. I thought for sure that eating something this good would:

  • Add an instant 10 pounds where I don’t want it;
  • Send me straight to Hell; or, at least
  • Get me into trouble with any Nutritionist worth their credentialing.

But then to learn that this stuff actually is good for me?  WOW – a huge revelation!  I’ve definitely won the Lotto now.  Farina said this recipe (as well as the majority of her recipes) is gluten-free, low in fat and super high in nutrients.  Win-win!

So, as promised in Part 1 of the Farina Curry post, here’s the full video highlighting not only what ingredients are needed to make a DeathbedFood Thai Curry but also what technique you need (caution: you will see a serious non-cook, ME, attempting to cook and craziness may ensue):

Even though my technique is not that good (to say the least), I still managed to make a pretty incredible curry … and, believe me, if I can do it, so can you!  So, below is the recipe for your pleasure …

Curry Thai Chicken

Green Coconut Curry Shrimp & Vegetables, Thailand

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients
1/2 lbs boneless chicken breast or thighs, cut into 2 inch pieces
1 cup carrots, peeled and cut into 3 x 1/4 inch thin strips
1 cup string beans, cut into 3 inch pieces
2 tablespoons canola oil

Curry paste
2 tablespoons green curry paste               
2 cloves garlic, peeled
3 shallots, peeled
2 tablespoons galangal or Chinese ginger, peeled and chopped
1 stalk lemongrass, peeled and finely chopped
2 minced kaffir lime leaves or 1 teaspoon lime zest

Sauce
2 cups coconut milk
1 cup water
3 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons lime juice
1 tablespoon chopped palm sugar

Garnish
4 sprigs Thai basil
4 sprigs cilantro

Instructions

In a medium bowl, combine the ingredients for the sauce and set aside.

Use a mortar and pestle or food processor, grind the curry paste ingredients into a fairly smooth paste.

Heat a large saute pan over medium heat. Add the canola oil and saute the curry paste until very fragrant and turns a shade darker, 5 to 7 minutes. Add the sauce mixture to the curry paste in the pan and stir until well combined. Add the carrots to the coconut milk mixture and simmer the over low heat until the carrots are just tender, about 15 minutes. Stir the chicken and string beans into the coconut curry broth and simmer until the chicken turns opaque, about 7 to 10 minutes.

Transfer the curry to a warm bowl and garnish with Thai basil and cilantro. Serve warm with white rice.