Tags

, ,

Mouthwatering Cake Truffle Art

Great Team-Godiva & Duff

Godiva has been a name synonymous with delicious chocolate for the past century. So you know that when Godiva pairs up with celebrity baker and food artist Duff Goldman, you are in for a treat. And let me say, what a treat it was.  Duff Goldman teamed up with Godiva’s executive chefs to create something truly sensational. A cake flavored truffle collection. I was invited to the preview at the Water Marke tower in Downtown LA.

Duff was more than happy to answer a few of my questions, and over the moon to tell everyone about his new truffle creations. I asked him how he got started on the whole truffle idea, coming from a cake background, truffles were definitely off the beaten path. He told me that he had always been fascinated by how you make chocolate, and began growing his relationship with Godiva by visiting their factory in Pennsylvania and working with their chefs. The idea, truffles that taste, and even feel, like cakes…..emerged over the course a year of working together.  Eventually, seven truffles emerged, four of which made the cut into Godiva’s newest collection, I call them the “DeathbedFood Four”.

Four Designs Made The Cut

Birthday Cake with mousse that tastes of cake icing, Cookie-dough with the texture and feel of actual cookie-dough, Butterscotch-Walnut, an earthy, musty, spicy, delicious combination, and Pineapple Hummingbird, what Chef Goldman described as a type of red-velvet, old school, southern flavor, and which had to be my favorite by far.

Mouthwatering Any Way You Slice Them

Over 30 different recipes were tried, and almost 50 sketches of how the truffles were to look were provided by Duff himself. As he so eloquently put it.

They need to taste and look awesome.

Duff Goldman Food Artist

Before I left I had time to pose one last question to Duff. On our last encounter I asked him what his Deathbed Food would have to be. His answer was immediate: his mom’s brisket. This time round, I asked Chef Goldman what his Deathbed Dessert would be, and the answer was rather unexpected.

 A Bomb Pop,” he answered with a laugh, “If I’m lying on my deathbed I want to feel like I’m six again.

Godiva were more than generous hosts of the premiere, and Duff Goldman was the life and soul of the party. Godiva provided each guest with a gift bag of truffles and information on their chocolates.  Got to go now, I think I hear the Ice Cream truck coming by my block.  Maybe a “The Bomb Pop” will pair with these Truffles!

https://i0.wp.com/www.aliciakachmar.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/bomb-pop-jr.jpg